Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-07-20

My trip to Chicago was great. The two days flew by. You know, I bemoan my lack of friends and they certainly lack a bit from the quantity angle, but from the quality angle, I am blessed. I realized that in her apartment I feel exactly as comfortable as I do in my own home. I used to feel that comfortable at my mom's but I think that's the only place. Certainly not at my father's. I might enjoy myself there, but I do not feel one bit at home.

So, I am very glad I went. And I do hope that this is not the last of this kind of weekend for me. That once the kid makes his debut, that I will still--after some time, probably--be able to do this kind of thing. With the kid in tow, I mean. Or maybe I could leave the kid behind with B.

We did the exact same things we ordinarily do on my visits: sit around and talk, go to this upscale mall in Skokie (spending much of our time in the shoe department at Nordstrom's), buy groceries at Dominick's, eat at a great diner called Jack's.

In the shoe department at Nordstrom's I experienced my first pregnancy comment from a stranger. I was trying on a pair of Mephisto slides, which I did not end up buying, when the salesman said, "These are very comfortable--that's important in your condition." I kind of liked that.

My friend and I noted that because we talk on the phone so frequently, getting together isn't really especially jarring. It essentially feels like a continuation of the conversation, except that we get to go out into the world and experience things together. You know, things like shoes. Which is of course a nice bonus.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com