Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-06-19

Sunday morning B and I headed out early on our bikes to check out a trail that just opened half a mile from our house. It's part of the Rails to Trails project, converting unused stretches railroad tracks to paved trails, what a great idea. The section that just opened is about three miles long, fairly flat and crossing only smaller streets (there are bridges, or I guess trestles, over the major roads). There are plans to extend it.

I can see this meaning I'll bike a lot more. There's another path in town but it begins a couple heavily trafficked miles from our house and even once you're on it you have to deal with some busy streets. I really dislike riding my bike in even the lightest traffic. I get very easily spooked.

When we got home from our ride, our adult kiddie pool was waiting. I lolled about in the water while B made his father's day phone call. Then he joined me. Then we got out of the pool.

The combined sensations of hot weather, cold chlorinated water, a wet bathing suit, and an air-conditioned house, all transport me to my childhood in the suburbs, where we belonged to the neighborhood pool. Experiencing these things really makes me feel like life is simple.

Once I'd dried off and gotten dressed, I went out on a grand grocery excursion. (Have I mentioned that I love grocery shopping? Always have.) Came home, ate lunch, paid some bills. Then I headed out again for the Y, intending to keep up the momentum I began last week. Ah, I thought as I approached, lots of parking, this town really does clear out in the summer. Then I turned the corner and saw the parking lot completely empty. Apparently during the period I stayed away, they decided not to open on Sundays anymore. As though the previous Sunday hours of noon to six weren't skimpy enough.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com