Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-07-31

Did you think I'd forgotten about you? About this journal? I did, a little, I guess. But then I remembered.

First I went away, and had a wonderful time in the lovely Hudson River valley town where my friend Nan lives. So wonderful that it confirmed my suspicion that this is a place I'd be very happy living. B sensed this in our conversations, and let me know he was less than thrilled at the idea of relocating, having only recently adjusted to his last move on my account, but not entirely averse. This prospect is in the Things to Mull Over file.

My one-day foray into Manhattan was also grand, including, among other things, dinner with the ever-engaging Biscuit Gal.

After being away, I spent the week adjusting to being back. Over the weekend I did dull but reassuring life maintenance stuff - state inspection for the car, thorough house cleaning, multiple loads of laundry with our new washer and dryer, exercise, grocery shopping, dog baths.

I watched most of a movie I'd taped some weeks ago: They Shoot Horses, Don't They. I'd managed to avoid ever watching this before and it is very good. Made in 1969 but set during the Depression, the entire story involves a dance marathon. The subject matter could lend itself to a light treatment but this is unrelentingly dark, emphasizing the contest's most sadistic and inhuman elements. It reminds me, again, that Jane Fonda is (was?) an amazing actress. (Coming Home is one of my very favorite movies.) She has the most incredible voice.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com