Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-12

Yesterday B and I went for our first ultrasound. My doctor had told me that 13 weeks was too early to determine the sex, and we actually expected to see little more than a blob. So imagine our surprise....

The blue arrow points to the part about which B is most excited. It's a boy! I can't type that without smiling. I might have felt equally happy had we learned it was a girl--there's something about knowing, seeing the baby move and squirm and seeing the heart beating--that brings this whole thing to a very different level of reality. The odd thing is that he's still in there, he's in there right now, doing his thing. It's all very mind-blowing.

We're starting to think about names. There are many fewer good male names, so in a way it might be easier. B has already vetoed many of my favorites as "please beat me up" names. From preliminary conversations, it looks as though our most likely area of overlap will be biblical names of one or two syllables.

I had a feeling it was a boy, and I'm not really disappointed. When I taught, I found I generally preferred boys, and I do think they are on the whole easier to raise than girls. As I once heard someone say, when you have a boy, you have to worry about one dick; when you have a girl, you have to worry about them all.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com