Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-13

I know I kinda disappeared there but I've got a really good excuse. We're in the process of maybe--we hope--buying a new house. We've been looking on and off for months, but despaired of finding anything in our price range in which we'd actually want to live. Then one night B was watching the real estate channel on TV.

It's only 10 miles from the town we live in, which is kind of wild considering how rural it feels out there. I get a little nervous about no longer being a stone's throw from my usual haunts (thrift shop, library, groovy food store) but then I remember: It's only 20 minutes away. Not to mention the fact that once this child makes his debut I doubt I'll be bopping out as frequently as I do now. The commute to work is longer, but only by about 15 minutes, and much of it is on pleasant back roads.

We've made an offer that will very likely be accepted. Next comes the inspection. The big obstacle in all this will be selling our house. Getting it in shape to sell, I mean. B spent yesterday working in our living room. I vacated the premises to avoid the lead-ridden dust from sanding the ceiling crack repairs he did last weekend.

I went to a store called USA Baby; his sister has offered to buy us a piece of baby gear and we don't have any idea what to ask for. I got a great sales girl who gave me the low-down on what you really need and what you don't.

Embarking on not one but two enormous, life-changing, financially draining adventures at once is a bit much, yes. But at the same time, it's pretty fucking exciting.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com