Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-08-23

Some recent emails I've sent....

[To my friend J. Don is the father of a mutual friend.]

Hey,

That's too bad about Don. I hate this business of parents dying. Just this morning I went to the dentist and mentioned my pregnancy and her first response was "Is your mom excited?" It always shocks me when people say stuff like that--I got it a lot when planning the wedding--but I guess it's not such a weird thing to say. Anyway, please don't worry about not letting me know immediately.

So, yeah, the house is pretty cool and we're pretty excited. Though I do get pangs about leaving our current house. I guess it's always a little bittersweet to move.

Have fun camping. Did you go much when Kay was younger? B is afraid we'll never go camping again once the kid is born. Though with our new house, I doubt we'll feel the as strong a need to go, since we're already in the woods and on water.

Take care.

Love,

H.

[To my father. Bea is his paramour.]

Hi Dad,

We had the inspection yesterday. All looks pretty good except for one crack in the foundation which the inspector recommended we have looked at by a structural engineer. Does not seem to have caused any problems thus far but could in the future. I guess if the structural engineer thinks it should be reinforced we will ask the sellers to have the work done or lower the price accordingly.

There are a few minor repairs we will also ask the sellers to address--I don't foresee them balking too much.

The scariest part of the inspection was imagining our house undergoing the same scrutiny. Hopefully the fact that our house is 47 years older than this one will make whoever inspects it a bit more forgiving.

We are spending most waking non-working hours on the house--B's doing repairs and I'm packing. We've rented a storage unit so that we can empty the place out a bit in order to do the work around the house.

The next big hurdle--aside from negotiating repairs with the seller--will be arranging financing. Don't think it'll be too difficult, I've gotten pre-approval, just a lot of forms to fill out.

How was your trip to NJ??

Best to Bea.

Love,

Helene

[To my friend M.]

Hey babe!

Glad you like the house--it's quite a change from the current place. I do hope we're not too isolated out there, that is my one concern. Hopefully we can meet some other people in the area. The truth is that we've been pretty isolated even living in the middle of town. I have hoped that maybe parenthood would change that a little. I don't know--we'll see. We don't really want to stay where we are now--for a number of reasons--so I'm seeing this as something to try and if we don't like it, we can always move. I think it is a good investment.

We're planning to put our house on the market as soon as my dear husband manages to undo the neglect I've inflicted on it all these years. (Remember that day you helped me move some of my stuff over?) There is a TON of work to do inside and out, everything from repairing plaster cracks, painting, refinishing floors, redoing bathroom walls. Luckily he's good at that stuff and doesn't mind doing it (too much). Meanwhile, I'm in charge of packing. A big job considering what packrats we both are (we're also getting rid of a lot of stuff).

Glad to hear things are going well with you. Between house and bebe, fiction (reading and writing it) has been the absolute last thing on my mind these days. I expect it will return one day. Or it won't. You know?

It is very, very odd for me to imagine that there is going to be a baby in our life before too long. I have spent so little time around infants--and have never had any strong inclination to have it any other way, frankly. I can only hope some instincts kick in. I'm not really nervous, though, I figure it will all work out. Hope my expectations are not too high.

The pregnancy is going very well. I'm doing yoga which I think helps stave off major aches and pains, though it is still probably a bit early for that (I'm at 23 weeks now). I have been subject to what one person I know called PIS--pregnancy-induced stupidity. On Saturday someone from Kroger called to say I'd left my purse in a shopping cart and this morning someone called from the yoga studio to say I'd left my checkbook....

Bye for now!

H.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com